Underneath the Cool Exterior

It was the eerie sound that first caught my attention- a muffled, gurgling sound of a small animal drowning. I glanced over. All appeared peaceful, even joyous.

Then the stench of decaying fish flooded my olfactory senses. I surveyed the source of said stench and on the surface the damage appeared minimal. Left lateral elimination was substantial, but the wreckage could be removed without much fanfare.

I should have erred on the side of caution.

My hand slipped around back to gently remove the foul exterior and prevent further spoil when I discovered the true destruction awaiting beneath the giggling façade.

The horror.

Leave a Reply

