The Verdict: Baby Bjorn For Us

Thus far, Operation Weight-Loss has not been a success.  It hasn’t exactly been a failure since I have dropped a whopping two pounds in the past three weeks, but I expect more of myself. 

The culprits?

Food.  It seems like my appetite is heartier now than before my pregnancy, and even more so since I started breastfeeding.  Apparently I’m not the only woman experiencing this.  It’s frustrating.  

Lack of sleep.  This is an area in which I have little control; the little miss decides when I can sleep and when I must be awake.  Sleep = better decision-making and greater energy level.  This is something that will only improve with time.

Exercise.  Now this is probably the area in which I feel I have the most control.  Usually.  I’ve had issues while on walks with Maya.  I tried to use the Moby wrap, but I don’t like it much.  It seems like no matter how snug I manage to wrap her, she’s sagging within ten minutes into my walk.  I’m continuously trying to pull her back up and tighten the wrap, which slows me down and is annoying.  She also tends to burrow her face into the fabric and it scares the crap out of me.  I’m constantly turning her face and she immediately buries back into the fabric. 

I finally broke down and bought the Baby Bjorn.  I put it on tonight for a while and I think it’s love- for both myself and Maya.  It fit beautifully and I never once felt like she could suddenly fall out.  I didn’t have to worry about extra fabric around her face and I didn’t need to boost her back up after a few minutes.  She briefly adjusted herself, then settled into it just fine.  She definitely enjoyed looking around and she appeared more stable in it than the Moby. 

I think as Maya grows and has more control over her body, we’ll both enjoy the Moby wrap more than we do now.  Until then, it’s Baby Bjorn for us.  I can’t wait to try it out on the open road.

I’m down to my last 10 lbs.  Time to kick into gear!

Leave a Reply

