Breastfeeding and Childcare

I take Maya to the new babysitter tomorrow- no more family members available to help out.  I absolutely detest the thought of a stranger taking care of my baby, but if I wish to work and pay my bills, I don’t have a choice. 

Here’s the conundrum:  She doesn’t want me to breastfeed over my lunch hour.  I live in a very small city and thus far I’ve been able to drive home and feed Maya during my lunch.  It gives me a little bit more time with her during my busy day and it makes me feel closer to her. 

However, the babysitter thinks that if I show up at her house over lunch the other kids will think it’s time for them to go home and basically chaos will follow.  In my opinion, if it does confuse them it will only be for a few days and then it will be just another part of a routine.  Maya’s mommy comes and feeds her, leaves, and then picks her up later to go home.  Period. 

I’m not sure whether I should push the issue.  I would like to try to continue to feed Maya over my lunch hour, then stop only if it becomes (and continues to be) an issue with the other children. 

Is that too much to ask?  After all, I am paying her to watch over my child- shouldn’t I be able to set some standards for Maya’s care? 

What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “Breastfeeding and Childcare

  1. Compromise…like you say…try it out, then decide. Give it a couple weeks, explain to the other kids what is going on and see what happens. Ask the sitter for HER help in prepping the other kids too, maybe…as in “Michelle will be here in a few minutes, but only to nurse baby Maya because it’s lunchtime, not because it’s time to go home.” Maybe try and time your visit to when she feeds the other kids lunch??? Good luck!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

