In Search of Writing Partner

I need to find a writing partner.  Someone with a fairly similar dry sense of humor and (preferably) someone who is familiar with screenplays.  I have this idea that I’ve been kicking around for a while (romantic-comedy style), and I was waiting for B to return so I could brainstorm and write it with him.  That isn’t happening now, so I need to put out feelers and hope the universe tosses me a bone.

I think that if I have someone else to actually sit down with and play idea ping-pong, I’ll have a stronger commitment to this project.  I do want to do it and I want to do it now.  I can become lackadaisical in my execution and I’ve wasted too much time waiting for something that apparently was never going to happen, so now I need to search for someone to partially fill B’s shoes.  Someone smart and funny who can push me, and who I can push right back.

Where should I search?  Put an ad in Craigslist for a writing partner?  The closest writing groups are located in Vegas, which is too far for me to travel- especially when I’ll need a sitter for a couple of hours for however often (two or three times a week?)?  I have no idea where to begin.

So please, if anyone has a suggestion as to where my search should start, would you let me know?  I’d really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

