Screenplay Deadline: September 1

Alrightie, my peeps.  I set the deadline for my screenplay at September 1st because if I don’t set a definitive stopping point, I’ll dink around with it for ages.  This gives me seven weeks to write the rough draft, which sounds like a miniscule amount of time, but it will force me to use every spare moment wisely.  No more daydreaming about external events I can’t change; I must constantly be focused on the project when I’m not focused on Maya.  There will be no excuses allowed.  Yes, I work full-time.  Yes, I have a baby.  Yes, I am exhausted.  So what.  I want this and it’s going to happen this time.  Period.

So, I need to think of a reward.  I know that finishing the project should itself be the reward, but I’m not sure it’s going to work that way.  I’m thinking since Maya will then be 9 1/2 months old, I might make my reward an overnight visit to Vegas.  I haven’t done that since B’s birthday a year and a half ago, and I desperately need a night out.  I’m not sure if I’ll be able to stand being away from Maya for a night (I haven’t been yet), but we’ll see.  I need a massive injection of adult activity in my life and Vegas always supplies more than enough of that.  Hmmm…. maybe too much for me now.  Might make it an overnight excursion to Zion or Bryce instead. 

At any rate, rough draft September 1st.  Begin first rewrite two weeks later after the dust has settled.  Have a completed project before Maya’s 1st birthday.  I’m aiming for Halloween, but will give myself wiggle-room for my final draft.

Thus far I have a fairly good outline of the first act, plot point 1, some scene ideas and sketchings of the second act as well as plot point 2, and a few possiblities for the final act and resolution.  It’s a process, but I have some fantastic books to help guide me:  Writing Movies, a guide by the Gotham Writers’ Workshop; The Screenwriter’s Bible by David Trottier; and Screenplay: The Foundations of Screenwriting by Syd Field.  My favorite so far is probably The Screenwriter’s Bible because it covers everything in depth- even formatting, however Writing Movies is is right up there, too.  I also downloaded Celtx to help me with the formatting and it seems to be pretty close to Final Draft- except it’s free.  Right on.

My deadline is now out for the world to see.  I’ll update as my screenplay progresses.  If anyone has helpful tips or suggestions, please let me know!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

