Open Wide

This was my first week attempting to make baby food and I think it was a success.  How can I define it as a success?  She ate it.  All of it.  I don’t blame her, either.  While it looks completely unappetizing, it smells wonderful when reheated and tastes damn good, too.  Beats jar baby food any day.  The only problem I’m running into is finding the time to cook-n-blend.  If I cook dinner for myself, then it’s no big deal.  I simply toss chunks of my garlic rosemary pork chop in the magic bullet thingy and voila!  Dinner and lunch for Maya.  If I feel like eating strawberry-frosted mini wheats for dinner, then it’s back to the jar for the pooper. 

A chicken meat shake:

Peas and cauliflower:

Cooked carrots with a dash of nutmeg and to the right is blended apples and cinnamon with a bit o’ banana:

So yummy and so much less expensive than baby food.  Plus, I stick a dish in the fridge for lunch the following day and freeze some for later.  I can’t tell you how much $ I’ve saved in just one week.  And I know exactly what’s going into her little belly. 

If you would have told me a year and a half ago I’d soon be making my own baby food for my own rambunctious girl, I would have laughed my ass off.

Leave a Reply

