There Goes August…

August 31st.  A month or so ago I set some goals for myself and gave myself a deadline of September 1st.  My exercise and weight loss goals have basically been met.  I’m only two pounds off from my pre-pregnancy weight, but my pre-pregger clothes fit just fine, so I’m fairly satisfied in that department.  Tonight I breezed through a workout that killed me a month ago, so I know just how far I’ve come cardiac and strength-wise.  I’d still like to trim down and tone up a bit more, but I feel really good and that’s the most important thing.

I set another goal to meditate on a regular basis, and I’ve been successful thus far.  It’s the first thing I do when I get up in the mornings, right before Maya wakes up.  Overall, I feel more calm and in control of my own mental and emotional states when I make meditation a priority.  I don’t meditate at great length right now- only about 10-15 minutes in the morning and maybe 5 or 10 minutes at night- however, if I skip a day or two (as I did at the beginning), I notice it.  Meditation has been instrumental in helping me let go of stuff I had been clinging on to.  It’s awesome.

Now for my final endeavor:  the screenplay. 

I did not finish it.  Blah.  I’m not close to meeting my goal, but I still work on it every day.  Some days I might only be able to squeeze in fifteen minutes, but it’s better than nothing.  I could give you the run-down of my typical day and offer it as an excuse to give up, but I don’t want to.  I’m not giving up and instead I’m trying to figure out other ways to manage the minute amount of spare time I do have so that I can write for larger chunks of time and rock this script.  I’m still excited about it and still loving the idea, so I’m not trashing it.  I have a great deal of it completed, but… man.  It’s tough. 

So that’s that for August.  Another month just flew the coop.  Crazy.

I’m setting some new goals for September.  One of them will be (once again) to finish the screenplay.  I can do it.  I need to flesh out the biggest time wasters of my days and kick them out the door to free up time to write.  I suppose this is probably one thing I could cut back on…

Ah well.

Good-bye, August. 

Oh yeah- Maya’s two front upper teeth both broke through today.  I suppose that explains her fever, drooling, chewing on everything like a vampire, and teenage-girl like moodiness.  Two more!  Ouch.  Poor babe.

2 thoughts on “There Goes August…

    1. Good! I kept telling myself to set reasonable, attainable goals, but where’s the fun in that? I set a lofty goal of writing a screenplay in the midst of my chaotic life and wrote more this past month than I have in ages. I didn’t make my deadline, but I surpassed any “reasonable” goal I would have set for myself. Big goals!
      Because, really… Why not?

      Like

Leave a Reply

