A Moment to Breathe

Maya sleeps!  Hurray!  I’m settling down to do some serious writing while my darling stinker is passed out in her crib.  I haven’t been writing at all lately.  Nothing.  But I think about it all the time, like when I’m chasing her or blending up some baby food or crashing, notebook and pencil in hand, when she falls asleep at night and I have the opportunity to write.  I literally fall asleep while trying to write.  So I gave up for a while. 

I know.  No giving up.  No excuses.  All that jazz went down the drain the past couple of weeks.  Now it’s time to pick back up where I left off; however, this time I’ve employed some help.

How To Write A Movie In 21 Days by Viki King.

Honestly, I don’t think I’m going to finish this sucker in 21 days as she has you write the entire first “random” draft in 7 days and then begin the revision process.  You write for hours every day.  I would love to be able to do that.  Truly.  But I need toothpicks to keep my eyes open after 10pm and Maya awakens by 5:30am, so I don’t think I’m going to accomplish a random draft in 7 days.  Then again, if I begin the process with failure already in my head, I most certainly won’t finish a random draft quickly.  Maybe I need some positive thinking…

Josh is going to return from his grandma’s, wander into the bathroom, and think I’ve lost it. 

Maybe I have. 

Anyway, it’s about writing from your heart and getting the story out, which is the most important step.

I accomplished so much last month.  I want to finish this screenplay and begin revising it.  So enough random chatter…

Leave a Reply

