Oh, For the Love of Cheerios…

I introduced Cheerios to my little munchkin about a week or so ago and she’s now obsessed with them.  She points to the big yellow box perched atop the refrigerator, and when I ask if she wants Cheerios, she exclaims “Yes!”  It’s awesome.  Right now she’s smiling, dancing, eating Cheerios and listening to Choo Choo Soul.  Never heard it?  Oh, well let me introduce you to it…

Now you can have it stuck in your head all day long just as I do.

She has been such a joy lately.  For the moment, her grumpy teething days are over and she’s so much fun.  She’s toned down the excessive biting and she magically stopped pulling my hair.  She gives hugs and kisses freely, waves bye-bye when she knows we’re leaving, and the look on her face when she squeals as I walk through the door after work breaks my heart.  It’s so damn sweet it makes me want to cry.

It’s the simple mornings like these that make me realize how incredible lucky I am.  The windows are cracked and there’s fresh, cool air drifting through my home.  Maya and I sit at the table, share cinnamon oatmeal and a banana, and we chat about the fun things we can do over the weekend.  She squishes a chunk of banana through her fingers and “shares” it with me, and then drops another piece on the floor, exploring the force of gravity. 

This is it right here.  These days are going to be gone before I know it, never to return.  Someday I won’t be able to hold her like a baby and kiss her chubby cheeks a million times a day.  I won’t be able to gently tickle her face and neck until she falls asleep with a grin on her face.  I won’t hear her sweet belly laughs when I “smell” her feet and say “STINKY!”  (Although sometimes they do stink.)  Someday she won’t press her forehead against mine, look me in the eye, pat my back with her pudgy hand, and give me a slobbery kiss. 

Time is flying by and someday very soon these days will disappear.

Last night I was thinking about our past year together, just she and I, and I was hoping that someday we can add another grown-up into the “she and I” mix.  She is an amazing girl with a spectacular personality, and I’d really love for her to grow up in a stable, loving, 2-parent environment.  I know single-parent households are common and even “fashionable” in some people’s eyes, but I want more for her and for myself.  I want her to know the love and support a dad can give.  So maybe…  As I discovered over a year and a half ago, you never know what the future is going to drop off at your doorstep.

She is the loveliest thing I never knew I wanted in my life.  I hope someday someone else will fall as in love with her as I am.

2 thoughts on “Oh, For the Love of Cheerios…

Leave a Reply

