Five Thousand Words

I’m beginning Day 6 of NaNoWriMo and I’m just under five thousand words.  I’ve discovered that meeting my 50,000 words goal is proving to be far more difficult than I imagined, especially with toddler.  I’m only averaging around 500-600 words an hour without interruption and far less while Maya’s awake. 

On the other hand, I’ve been writing every day since it started, no excuses.  Even after Maya was sick  to her stomach Thursday night and I had to spend an hour cleaning my carpet (and two more hours the next day), I still wrote for a while, despite the stench that lingered in my living area.  

However, I’m not a die-hard.  I know that some people let all sorts of things fall to the wayside during NaNo and I don’t understand that mode of thinking.  I think of this month of heavy writing as a tool to get my butt back in the chair and show myself that I can fit writing into my life as I care for my family and maintain my own healthy habits- like daily exercise and nutritious meals.  If I let everything else go and strive only to meet the 50,000 words, I’m going to feel that writing is impossible in my normal routine.  Neglecting my normal life for 50,000 of drivel (with potential, of course)?  The “prize” isn’t worth the cost.

I’ve discovered that I do have time to write- even with a 2 year old.  I just have to let go of those time wasters and push myself beyond what I think I’m capable of accomplishing.  Will I meet 50,000 words this month?  I don’t know.  If I don’t, no big thing.  If I do, I’ll be pretty damn pleased with myself, I will admit.

2 thoughts on “Five Thousand Words

  1. Sounds like you have your hands full even without writing a novel but I admire you for trying anyway. I hope you find the time to reach the 50K mark and prove that writing can be a part of your every day life. Even if you fall somewhat short, there will always be some time for writing, right?

    And Maya won’t be two forever. In fact, she probably won’t be two for long enough – kids grow up way too fast. Enjoy your daughter, the writing will always be there. And good luck this month however it works out for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

