In Progress, But Not Quite There Yet

Last night I dreamt I was in love again.  I don’t know the name of the dark-haired man, only that as I read a book, I leaned into him and he wrapped his arm around me to pull me close.  As hard as I try, I can’t seem to remember much more about the dream, but I vividly recall how I felt in it.  Happy.  Safe.  Loved.  I awoke this morning with that “full” feeling inside my chest- a feeling I haven’t had in years.  It was the loveliest thing.  I have no idea if this man actually exists somewhere or if it was just my subconscious wishing for it.  I suppose time will tell.

I also awoke with the song “Boston” by Augustana stuck in my head.  I haven’t heard that song in years.  Is it a hint?  Unlikely.  I’m sure there’s something within the song that resonates with me on a deeper level right now, whether or not I realize it.  I’m guessing it’s due to the fact that I’m desperately craving change in my life, and although I’m actively working toward it, this great change doesn’t seem to manifesting just yet.  Patience is a virtue I am constantly striving to cultivate within. 

Back to writing for NaNoWriMo before my little stinker wakes up.  I attempted a one-sentence synopsis of the story and this is what I came up with: 

A woman who loses her job, her marriage and her self-esteem attempts to reclaim her life by making up a romantic, albeit sordid story about spending her youth as a hooker in France, which she tells in bits in order to keep her sole art student- her doctor’s snarky teenager- interested enough to come back for art lessons week after week.

It’s a synopsis-in-progress, but for now it will do. 

Speaking of NaNoWriMo, here’s a sweet story- one that gives me hope: http://blog.lettersandlight.org/post/12811994656

My family jokes that since one of my brothers married a Russian (Moldova to be exact) and the other is engaged to a lovely woman from Bosnia AND my son is in a relationship with a girl who is originally from Finland but lives in Spain, it’s my turn to find a fantastic foreigner.  Maybe NaNo will be my ticket to love, too…  One never knows, eh?

Any takers?

Leave a Reply

