Here Comes Scriptfrenzy

During the past two months, my writing life has been off the mark to say the least.  I’ve simply been missing the drive necessary to plant my butt in a chair and pound out pages on my laptop.  I’m not exactly sure why.  Something in the water?  Fluctuation in the moon cycle?  Can I blame it on hormones?  Probably not, but I will anyway.

The past few days have been different though.  I’ve found myself waking up half an hour before my alarm buzzes at its own early time of 5:45 am.  I toss and turn for five or ten minutes, kick off the covers in a fit of disgust at my inability to sleep, flip on my coffee maker, shower, and then glue my backside down in front of a blinking cursor until time forces me fix my daughter’s breakfast and brush my hair.  I don’t write write much, mind you, but I plot, vigorously, while the toddler sleeps and my home is silent.  I feel invigorated.

Perfect timing, too, because Scriptfrenzy begins on April 1st.  100 pages in 30 days.  I’m excited about it.  For some odd reason, it seems slightly less daunting than the NaNoWriMo goal of 50,000 words in 30 days, although I’m not sure why because I’ve done both and they are equally challenging.  Perhaps it’s because, although I haven’t been writing much lately, I’ve increased my library of screenwriting books during the past year and I’ve finally been absorbing them.  Making Movies by Sidney Lumet.   The 101 Habits of Highly Successful Screenwriters by Karl Iglesias.   The Writers Journey by Christopher Vogler.  Visual Storytelling and Dialogue Secrets by William C. Martell.  And more (so ask if you’re curious about one- maybe I’ve read it).  I’ve also been downloading and studying screenplays.  It’s the best way to figure it all out.

I’m as ready as I’m going to be.  Are you?

On a side note, I gave my daughter, who just turned 28 months old, her first hair cut while she was brushing her teeth.  She won’t let anyone else touch her, so we played a game:  I counted down 3-2-1 and then I snipped off some of her hair while she chewed on her toothbrush and laughed.  It is not even (imagine that), but it looks better nonetheless.  She has bangs now so she can see all of life in front of her instead of glimpsing it through gaps in her long locks, and her back is right at her shoulders.  (Yes, of course I tried clips and headbands, but she won’t wear them- stubborn thing.)

Anyway, so looks adorable, even as she yells, “Momma, momma!  Ooooo, a COCK!  A COCK!” as she sees a truck in a Walmart toy aisle.

*sigh*

One thought on “Here Comes Scriptfrenzy

Leave a Reply

