You Won’t Let Me

Tonight I was looking for music to sink into my background as I wrote.  I’m slipping into some deep territory within my story and the right music can pave your path, as can the appropriate wine.  Tonight, wine-wise, I’m sipping on something equivalent to Two-Buck Chuck.  Not exactly appropriate, but it must do.  (I have a fantastic bottle of red squirreled back since February [squirrels are coming up a lot in conversations tonight] for an anticipated special occasion, which, sadly, never arrived, thus I am planning on opening the sucker with a friend this weekend…)

As always, when I’m working on a piece that revolves around love, I instantly inject Rachael Yamagata into the air.  I know damn near every song by heart.  Her lyrics cut deep and express the absolute truth as she, and frequently the listener, knows it.  She is probably my favorite artist, and yet I hadn’t heard the following song until this evening.

I cried when I heard it.

She’s right.  You can’t solve anyone’s problems and you can’t heal someone’s heart.

You can love them with everything you have, but if they can’t return the love… then they just can’t.  You can’t convince them.  You can’t supply enough love for the two of you.  You can try, you can give them all the space they require, and you can have the patience of a saint, but if they don’t feel it, they don’t feel it.  If they’re simply not able to open up to love, well then…  You know what to do, even if it breaks your own heart to do it.

If this is your first listen to Rachael Yamagata and you think her as spectacular as I do, please check out her other recordings.  I can almost guarantee you will love nearly every song.

6 thoughts on “You Won’t Let Me

    1. Thank you. From reading your blog entries, I imagine that you understand the paragraph all too well. Of course, the benefit to letting go is that it allows something better (for you) to fall into your lap. 🙂

      Like

    1. “Eye of the Tiger” just popped into my head for some reason. Great. Now I’m going to throw hooks and uppercuts as I walk and people will look at me weird.

      I usually listen to music as I develop a story or play around with it, but once I begin to seriously click away, the music disappears and it’s just me and the story.

      Like

  1. This is the first time I’ve heard Rachael Yamagata, so thank you! She has a great voice, very expressive.
    But now I’m sad, so I’m considering taking my “thank you” back. Just kidding, thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. I should have added a disclaimer: *Writer not responsible for feelings of sadness that may occur upon listening.
      I have “Eye of the Tiger” stuck in my head right now, so I’m feeling pretty darn invincible in an Italian Stallion sort of way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

