Curve Ball: Surprise Vegas Wedding


Because sometimes you wake up, turn to that gorgeous being sleeping beside you, and you say:

I want to be with you.  For good.  I’ve wanted to be with you for a long time.  I don’t want anyone else.  I don’t want to try to make life work with anyone else.  YOU are worth the effort.  I love you.  YOU.  So let’s just do it because life is too short to fuck around.

Or you say something pretty similar to it.  And the other person is like, Are you kidding me?  Hell yes!

You call some people and share the news.  Then everyone fixes their hair and dances around in their undies to 80’s music.  Or maybe just some people do.

WP_20131103_005
I would never dance in my undies. Especially to 80’s music.
WP_20131103_006
Never ever.
Okay. Maybe sometimes.

And then you hop in your car and drive here:

WP_20131103_011

And the kids play and read while you wait.

WP_20131103_016
Thank heavens I had the foresight to bring Dr. Seuss.

WP_20131103_020

Then you do it and you don’t look back.  You give your heart.  You give your soul.  You give yourself.  You know it won’t always be easy, but you know that this person standing beside you is the one worth fighting for.  They light a fire within you and make you want to be a better person.  They have since the moment you met them and the feeling grows as time passes.

They just get you.

WP_20131103_034

So you say, “I do.”

Then you all go out to eat and the kids drive you batshit crazy, as kids tend to do.  The End.

However, there are a few good moments…

WP_20131103_039 WP_20131103_041 WP_20131103_042 WP_20131103_045 WP_20131103_048

Congrats, brother!

Now…  It’s my turn.

I read this viral posting a few minutes ago and it’s perfect for this particular post:

http://www.viralnova.com/marriage-is-not-for-you/

11 thoughts on “Curve Ball: Surprise Vegas Wedding

    1. All I can picture right now is Christina Applegate and Cameron Diaz in “The Sweetest Thing.” Dressed in those gawdawful outfits, they catch a glimpse of themselves and say, “And these are the Days of our Lives.”

      It’s been a really, really long day…

      Like

      1. My husband and I renewed our vows in Vegas in March for our 10th wedding anniversary. I know what you’re thinking: these losers need to renew vows after a measly ten years? And you’d be wrong. We losers did it so we could have Elvis officiate. It was awesome!

        Like

Leave a Reply

