A Letter to Myself cc: the world

I originally wrote this letter to myself (obviously) to post on my refrigerator as a reminder of sorts- something that would inspire me every day.  However, I know there are a few people out there who could also use some inspiration and I thought they might feel a bit lighter after reading this.

A letter to myself

cc: the world

Hello there, self.  I hope you’re doing well this fine morning in Portland.  The clouds have gently rolled in and pushed the exhausting heat out of the city for now.  It’s your dream weather for all of your favorite activities.  It’s one of the reasons you moved to the Northwest.  So, I have a question for you today: What are you waiting for?

Don’t play coy with me and pretend you don’t know what I’m talking about.  You are well aware that you’re not living up to your full potential and manifesting your dreams because if you were, you wouldn’t have an unsettled feeling inside, like something is missing in your life.  You are capable of succeeding at whatever you set your mind to, yet you falter and play small.  There is so much more that you want to do in life, so let me ask you again: What are you waiting for?

I know you occasionally examine your past and you wonder what your life could have been had you made different choices.  Nearly everyone takes a trip down that road as some point in their lives.  However, your journey, your own unique path, has made you the strong woman you are today, so embrace your past and then set it free or the what-ifs will paralyze you.  You’ve learned from your choices and you make different, better decisions now, every single day.  Move forward because it’s time to

DES

No more excuses.  Do not waste another day, do not hesitate.  Now is the time to work the soil and plant the seeds.  Today.  Every single day.

Acknowledge any fear you have and then push it aside because it will not serve you well.  If you had let fear hold you back earlier this year, you’d still be sitting in your apartment in Mesquite, dreaming of setting yourself free from your prison in the desert but doing nothing do make it happen.  You’d still be all talk and no action.

You broke out of a significant rut when you packed up your daughter and some belongings in your car and moved 1100 miles to a new city with no home, no job, nothing.  You took a massive risk because you had faith that if you made a bold move and put in the effort, the energy in the Universe would pick up the slack and all would work out fine.  It did.  Look at the drastic, remarkable change in your life from where you were just over four months ago.  Need I remind you that you have nearly every single thing on your wish list from last October?  Unbelievable.

me, loving my new home
just behind me through the trees and across the creek, is a park with a basketball court and playground. The sound of laughter and music permeates the air. It is absolutely lovely.

Now, keep that momentum going.  Sit down and create a new wish list.  Aim higher and act on those dreams with love and passion.

Refuse to accept mediocrity; choose brilliance and watch your world change.

You have joy and light within you and you need to let yourself shine.  Stop hiding your worth and commit to becoming the best possible version of yourself.

quote
The War of Art by Steven Pressfield

Demand more of yourself and stoke the fire that still smolders within.  It has never died out; it simply needs fuel to set a blaze once again.  Ignite that spark and let the inferno spread and inspire others.

Listen to your inner voice, the one that refuses to be silenced even after you’ve ignored it time and time again.  It will haunt you until the day you die if you refuse to act on its desires.  It’s never too late.

You will have difficult days and rotten weeks when you will want to give up.  Keep the faith.  You are sure to stumble now and then.  Get up, brush off the debris, and plow forward.  Don’t ever give up.

Everything you’ve ever wanted is right at your fingertips.  Reach out and grab it.  Claim it for your own because no one else can do it for you.  Do not settle for anything less than what you want.  Do more right now than ever before because you are worth the effort.

It’s time to be awesome.

With much love and admiration,

Your inner motivator

12 thoughts on “A Letter to Myself cc: the world

  1. Michelle I really love this letter to yourself. I am battling my demons as I push through those dreams and I have discovered that the battle continues right through the whole process. Thank you I am probably halfway through two projects at the moment that are both challenging me like I have never been challenged before. This post resonated and needs to be read every time we have self doubt. Go out and slay those demons.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I don’t think the battles ever end; I think we adapt and don’t see them so much as weighty, near-paralyzing struggles as we do regular challenges to overcome. Regardless, it’s time to push past that bs and become the fantastic people we are meant to be. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The email notification of this post came in when I was polishing a manuscript that was due last week and I was such a wreck finishing it up and submitting it that I totally forgot about the email.

    Is it normal to want to sleep for days after a huge burst of creativity?

    I really could have used this post last week when I was going out of my mind over the manuscript. Now I’m just waiting to see if it’s accepted. So I suppose I read this right when I was supposed to. Or perhaps I’ll come back if the story is rejected…noooo! 🙂

    Thanks for the pep talk!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

